North Carolina requires all security officers or any one engaged in the private protective services profession to register and obtain a license. The Private Protective Services Board (PPSB) regulates the requirements for unarmed security guard training in North Carolina.
A licensed private security firm may hire an unarmed security guard on a probationary period of 20 days. During the probation period an unarmed guard can only engage in security services if they have completed all the required training and passed a criminal background check conducted by the private security firm. Upon completion of the probationary period, the private security firm must register the employee within the first 30 calendar days.
Requirements for Security Guard Training in North Carolina
The following are minimum requirements to become an unarmed security officer in North Carolina
- The applicant must be at least 18 years of age at the time of applying.
- The applicant must be a US citizen or a legal permanent resident of United States.
- Applicant must be of good moral character and must have temperate habits.
- Applicant should be free of felony convictions
- 2 recent photographs that clearly show the facial features of the applicant. A passport photo will work.
- Criminal records obtained from all states where the applicant has stayed in the last 48 months.
- Fingerprinting cards (Standard FBI fingerprinting cards). These will be sued to complete background checks with the Department of Justice, State Bureau of Investigation and Federal Bureau of Investigation.
- Application fee: $30
A private security guards job is very demanding and you must be mentally and physically fit to perform the role. A security guard must be alert and may have to stand for long stretches of time.
Unarmed Security Officer Training Requirement for Guard Card
Unarmed security guards are required to complete 16 hours of training. Four hours must be completed before working in the field. Additional 12 hours must be completed in the first 30 days.
The license also known as the guard card must be renewed annually.
For more details on how to become a security guard in North Carolina, please visit North Carolina General Statutes, Chapter 74C: Private Protective Services.