Department of Public Safety (DPS), State of Arizona requires you to get licensed and register before you can be positioned on a site or wear a guard uniform. Licenses and/or registration from other states are not accepted.
Requirements for Security Guard License
The DPS issues unarmed security guard registration certificate allows you to work for any security guard company in Arizona.
You are not required to register if you work for a proprietary company (A proprietary company pays you to be their security guard).
- You must have an offer from a licensed security agency in Arizona and they have to fill out a section of your application form. You can download the application from here.
- Fingerprints must be submitted with your application for a new or renewed registration certificate or license. The fingerprint data is submitted to the Arizona and national crime databases to check for a criminal history. You can see complete fingerprint process here.
- A color photograph (passport style)
- Complete 8-hour of required pre-assignment training and obtained a signed verification letter in the linked form.
- Pay the application fee of $72 by cash, money order or cashier’s check in favor of DPS.
Application fee breakup
Registration certificate fee: $50
Fingerprint processing fee: $22
Please mail the complete application form and fees to:
Arizona Department of Public Safety, Licensing Unit
Mail Drop No. 1160
P.O. Box 6328
Phoenix, AZ 85005-6328
Unarmed Security Guard Training in Arizona
The course curriculum is set by the DPS and must be completed at a DPS approved facility by a licensed instructor. The following modules are typically covered in the 8-hour pre-assignment course.
- Authority and Responsibility of a Security Guard
- Laws of Arrest and Criminal Law
- Search and Seizure
- Communications, Uniform and Grooming
- Report Writing and Note Taking
- Stress Management
- Use of Force and levels of Force
- Non-Lethal Weapon
- Crime Scene Preservation
- First Response
Security guard Salary in Arizona
Unarmed security guards typically get paid $22K-$40K annually. The salary varies depending on several factors such has length of service, previous experience, client and type of site the guard is working at.
Renewal of Arizona Guard Card
The registration expires two years from the date of processing. Renewals are excepted 60-days before the expiration. A $10 late fee will be charged after expiration. If you registration has expired for more than 90-days, you will have to apply as a new applicant.
For more information please visit Arizona Department of Public Safety