Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing regulates the private security industry in the state. A Class “D” Security Guard License is required to work as an unarmed security officer in Florida.
Security Guard Requirements in Florida
- Minimum age requirement: You must be 18 years of age to apply for a security guard license.
- Training requirements: You must complete 40 hours of training prior to getting you blue card or permanent license.
- Work authorization: You should be a US citizen or be a legal permanent resident to work as an unarmed guard in the state of Florida (or have been granted authority to work in US by the Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services -USCIS).
- Background check: You must pass a criminal history record check conducted by the Department of Law Enforcement (DLE) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The Department of Licensing may deny your application if you have been found guilty or are in trial for demonstrating lack of respect for any laws set by the state or the nation.
- Address: You must provide a current residence address (a P.O. Box is not considered a residence).
You can provide you fingerprints on the fingerprint card along with your application or by electronic fingerprint-scan. Your fingerprints can only be taken at a participating law enforcement agency, by your employer, or by an approved business providing fingerprinting services.
Application fees of $87 must be paid by check or money order, in favor of “Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services“.
License Fee: $45
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $42
Total Fees: $87
Florida Unarmed Security Guard Training Course
During the 40-hour training program you will learn about the various rules and regulation and security guard procedures applicable in Florida. The training is conducted by certified instructors who also have many years of experience in the security industry.
Topics covered in training
- Legal issues and liabilities
- Emergency procedures
- Terrorism awareness
- First aid
- Security patrol
- Confrontation management
- Communication skills
- Observation and report writing
- Ethic and code of conduct
Some schools offer the training programs very week. Most courses will last 4 to 7 days and can be completed in a week.
Note: Since January 1, 2012 you must submit your application only after completing 40 hours of training. Before that you could have applied after completing 24 hours of training and completed the rest in the next six months. You must now complete the 40 hours of training before you can be issued the blue card or a permanent license.
Florida Unarmed Security Officer Application Process
- Download the Class “D” Security Officer License form and complete your personal details.
- Attach proof of successful completion of professional training conducted by an approved training facility in Florida.
- Attach proof of work authorization in US
- Color photographs (larger than 1-1/4” X 1-3/8”).
- Fingerprints submissions
If you license has expired over a year ago, you are considered a new applicant an must complete the 40 hours of required training (exceptions may be made on a case by case basis depending on the circumstances, please contact the Division of Licensing).